Wednesday, 18 July 2012

Political highlights from Kasese

By: Kasese online news team
Everything is set for nominations for both district women parliamentary and local council seats by-elections aspirants that kicks of tomorrow. The Kasese district Registrar Kanzira Vally Tumwesigye told journalists that the Thursday and Friday exercise will take place at the electoral commission offices in Kasese town starting at 9.00am to 5.00pm each day.
Confirmation from the district registrar indicates four people expected to be presented for nominations to run for the seat of Woman Member of Parliament for Kasese that fell vacant after court of appeal ordered fresh elections.
Nominations The aspirants are FDC’s Winfred Kiiza, NRM’s Rehema Muhindo, DP’s Rosemary Masika and Betty Kayesu running as Independent. Winfred Kiiza and Betty Kayesu will be nominated on Thursday at 10:00 and 12:00pm respective where as Rosemary Masika and Rehema Muhindo areb to be nominated on Friday at 9:00 and 11: am respectively.
Also to be nominated are candidates for the LC 3 seat for Lake-Katwe and Nyakatonzi sub-counties. Also different categories of councilors from Isango sub-county, Kisinga Town board and newly created Nyakatonzi sub-county will be nominated. The confirmed list from the Registrar’s office indicates Swizin Bukenya of NRM as the only contender for the Nyakatonzi LC 3 seat. Selestine Siwako (NRM), Cyprus Baluku (FDC), Emmanuel Kyalimba and Vincent Odoru both independent are set for nominations to vie for the Lake Katwe sub-county LC 3 seat that also fell vacant following a court order in April last year on grounds of election malpractices in the 2011 polls.
Mr. Tumwesigye, the district registrar has asked every aspiring candidate turning up for nominations to come with only two vehicles possessing a police sticker to avoid abstraction of the exercise. FDC president Dr. Kizza Besigye is arriving in Kasese to accompany Winfred Kiiza for nominations and later on at a public rally at Nyakasanga stadium tomorrow.