Thursday, 31 January 2013

The 50th National Independence Golden Jubilee medals awards at the celebration in Kasese

News updated at E-Society 
Story by; Kasese Guide Radio

The 50th National Independence Golden Jubilee medal that was approved by President Yoweri Museveni last year was yesterday launched with a decoration of different people at the 27th NRM anniversary celebrations in Kasese town.
The new medal whose list has over three thousand chosen recipients is for those people who have contributed to the development of Uganda since Independence on October 9th 1962.
President Yoweri Museveni and four former heads of state have received this medal that will be given out to the beneficiaries at different occasions this year.
Former president Idi Amin was left out of the list of the former heads of state who received the medals that were announced by the Chairman of the National Medals Committee General Elly Tumwine.
Former presidents whose family members received the 50th National Independence Golden Jubilee Medals include Sir Edward Mutesa II, Dr. Milton Obote, Prof. Yusuf Lule, Gen. Tito Okello and Godfrey Lukongwa Binaisa all deceased.
Others who received the medal include Omusinga Charles Wesley Mumbere, Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi, Vice President Edward Sekandi, the former and current judges, Al-hajji Moses Kigongo, Jabel Bidandi Saali and speaker of parliament Rabecca Kadanga among others.
Also the continuation of presenting of Nalubale medals to those who assisted in the Liberation war was today extended to a number of people from the Rwenzori region. Mzee Francis Kabaseke, the Father of Rev. Fr. Francis Assimwe of Nsenyi Parish was among those who were decorated with the Nalubale medal.
Among those who received are the members of the Katebwa-Kyabarungira war veterans, Ivan Walemba who participated in the Constituency Assembly, Semu Mukirania, Tom Byasaki, and James Rwakilembe among others.
Among religious leaders, Bishop Egidio Nkaijanabwo of the Catholic Diocese of Kasese and Pastor Ezakiel Mutwanga the executive Director of the South Western Uganda field of SDA church received the Nalubale medals.